Assembly polls: SP storms to power in UP; Akali-BJP retain Punjab

Riding an anti-incumbency wave, the Samajwadi Party on Tuesday stormed to power in Uttar Pradesh dislodging Mayawati while the ruling the Akali Dal-BJP combine sprang a surprise retaining power in Punjab and creating a history in the state by breaking a 46-year jinx.

The BJP bagged Goa ousting Congress which managed to hold on to power in Manipur for a third successive term.

Uttarakhand proved to be a cliff-hanger of a contest with the Congress emerging the single largest party at 32 having a wafer thin lead over ruling BJP's 31.

The Samajwadi Party announced that Mulayam Singh would be the Chief Minister while Akali Dal said it would be Prakash Singh Badal in Punjab.

In the heartland battle in Uttar Pradesh, Mulayam Singh-led SP knocked out BSP by winning 160 seats and leading in 61 others in the 403-member House. The ruling party was reduced to 80 seats from 206 it had in outgoing House.The BSP has so far won 52 seats and was ahead in 27 seats. The Samajwadi Party had won 97 seats in the 2007 elections.

While the BJP barely managed to repeat its 2007 performance. It has won 34 seats and was ahead in 16 others. It had won 51 seats in 2007 elections.

Equally dismal was the performance of Congress, which sought to make big strides with spirited campaign by Rahul Gandhi, winning only 19 seats and leading in nine. The party had won 22 seats in the last elections.

World News Today

Disclaimers | Terms of Use | Security | Privacy Policy | Legal Notices   |  VISA BRAND Privacy Policy |" target="_blank"> In Partnership with wdshare" target="_blank"> and" target="_blank"> Ghana News Network